Welcome to my Résumé Site

Short Biografy

I was born in Rome, where I lived 16 years until I moved to Venice, where I got my university-entry diploma [Italian: “Maturità Classica”] at the Navy College [It. Collegio Navale” nowadays “Scuola Navale Militare”“Francesco Morosini”.

The ’80s

After leaving the Italian Navy with the rank of Lieutenant I started my career in IT in Rome as programmer working for Olivetti Licensed Dealers, developing and customizing accounting and logistics software.

My career developed from programming through information and later business analysis up to project management in two software houses in Rome (Sipe Optimation SpA and AgriService SpA), leading small to medium size projects (<30 FTE, <2000 MD), for customers like BNL (nowadays belonging to BNP Paribas group), INA (Insurance (public) Company), and several Ministries (Ministry of Foreign AffairsMinistry of Labour, and Ministry of Culture).

The ’90s

In 1995 I relocated from Rome to Aachen (Germany), where I started and successfully completed the study of Computer Science at the University of Technology of Aachen (RWTH Aachen – Germany), my major topics were Artificial Intelligence and Logics, and my minor topic Mathematics.

The New Millenium

On 11.02.2011 (read it as 11th of February 2011, a palindrome-date as you can see) at 11:02AM CET I married for the second time.

During my studies and after achieving my Master (in German “Dipl.-Inform.”) in Computer Science I worked as Project Manager in several SW development and deployment projects for Banks and Assurance Companies in Germany (among others for the Sparkasse Köln-Bonn on behalf of GeVaSys GmbH, and for the Volksbanken und Raiffeisenbanken in North-Rhein/Westfalia, on behalf of GAD eG), and in the Process Development and Quality Assurance section of the Nokia Telecommunication in Helsinki (Finland).

In February 2008 I joined Atos Worldline (AWL) in Aachen (Germany), which belongs to Atos, working among others in the offering for an Italian Oil Company and in an ePayment (Remote Payments) Project for a Bank in TheNetherlands as Overall Project Manager. I was also the referee for NFC (Near Field Communication) with respect to the system developed and maintained by another company of the Group.

In February 2009 I started working as Program Manager and PCI (Payment Card Industry) Deputy in the Operational Program Management Group of a SW Development Program (multi-national, developing also offshore) for a French Bank and in January 2010 I joined, still as Program Manager, in the same Department, the Software Architecture & Program Management team. I was also coordinator of the PCI Committee in my Department, dealing with PCI DSS and PCI PA-DSS issues and certifications.

My last assignment by AWL was as Program Manager of Central Scheme Processing (joining the two programs Central Switching and Central Clearing & Settlement), a software development and system integration program for five French banks.

Moving again

In October 2011 I joined as Program Manager / Senior Project Manager a consultancy company belonging to an international concern, with sites all over the world.

BPO, CMMi, Quality Assurance, Process Improvement, Project and Program Management, as well as Resources Management, Outsourcing (also Offshore), SOA, UML, RUP are some of the terms I’m most confident of and part of my daily work.

Main fields of work are Banking & Financial Services as well Insurance. Main fields of interest are Artificial Intelligence and Linguistics.

Hobbies and Interests

In my free time I like to do sports (e.g. AikidoIaidoKyudoGym), read books, to travel, and to learn languages. I like horse riding and sailing too. 

I am a member among others of

·        the Project Management Institute,

·        the Associazione Nazionale Scuola Navale Militare “Francesco Morosini” (Assomorosini),

·        the Unione Nazionale Ufficiali in Congedo d’Italia (UNUCI).

I am a former member among others of

·        the Association des Etats Gnraux des Etudiants de lEurope (AEGEE-AachenAEGEE-Europe), and of

·        the Associazione Guide e Scout Cattolici Italiani (AGESCI Roma 131AGESCI).

You can also visit my web-pages on:

·        LinkedIn: http://de.linkedin.com/in/robertosantegreco

·        XING: https://www.xing.com/profile/RobertoS_Greco

·        FaceBook: http://it-it.facebook.com/people/Roberto-Sante-Greco/1208292591

Continuous Learning

In July 2011 I passed the PMI examination, getting the credential of PMP (Project Manager Professional). In 2012 the ITIL Foundation and later ITIL Service Strategy and ITIL Service Design. In July 2013 I got the PgMP credential. In 2015 the IPMA Level A. In 2018 the SAFe Agilist.

In June 2008 I have been PRINCE2 Practitioner certified (by ILX Group in UK).

In March 2009 I got my Business English Certificate (BEC) – Vantage – Level B2.

Currently I also study Psychology at the FernUni Hagen as part-time student.

My Daily Work

My main functions within the Program and my Department are among others:

·        Support of multi-national SW development projects through all phases as a member of the program management team (PMT).

·        Take part in coordination of the program’s projects.

·        Be the counterpart up to 4 dedicated projects, dealing directly with the project managers.

·        Cooperate with more technical oriented colleagues within PMT, within the program’s community and within the Department.

·        Take responsibility for PCI DSS and PCI PA-DSS compliance related questions within the program and in the whole Department.

·        Contribute to continuous improvement of process organization.

Me, Myself, I

Capability to join my Italian spirit with my German way to work.

·        Professionalism.

·        Ability to manage multi-national projects and to support and lead project managers.

·        Good communication skill with capability to deal with intercultural issues.

·        Quick comprehension, ability to orient myself also in complex organizational systems.

·        Team player.

·        Creativity in solving issues and capacity for teamwork.

·        Mobility, flexibility to travel up to 5 days per week (or more, if needed).

·        Languages:

o       Mother tongueItalian.

o       Good German (University Study in Germany) and English (BEC B2 Vantage) language skills (written and spoken),

o       some Spanish (B2 Vantage) and French.

o       I learned also (at a basic level): Japanese, Chinese (Mandarin), Portuguese, Modern Greek, Finnish.


I would be glad to meet you, either virtually or in person.

Kind Regards

Roberto S. Greco.